DIBS Staff Receive Duke Presidential Awards

April 19, 2012

On Wednesday, April 18th, President Richard H. Brodhead honored DIBS Program Coordinator Cynthia Sherwood (DIBS Education) with a Presidential Award for outstanding service in 2011. The Presidential Awards are one of the University’s highest honors given to Duke staff and faculty. The award recognizes employees who have made distinctive contributions in various job categories to Duke University and Duke University Health System in the past year, and Ms. Sherwood’s award was one of only four given this year, recognizing her vast efforts coordinating the undergraduate neuroscience program.

President Brodhead also presented Dr. Elizabeth Johnson (Associate Director, DIBS), with one of 13 Presidential Meritorious Service Awards in recognition of her leadership of DIBS, especially during the transition in leadership this past year.

To read more about the awards and the honorees, see the news story at Duke Today.

About DIBS

The Duke Institute for Brain Sciences (DIBS) was created in 2007 as a cross-school, campus-wide, interdisciplinary Institute with a commitment to building an interactive community of brain science research and scholarship.