Skip to content

DIBS Faculty Among 6 Honored by AAAS

Calakos, Farahany, Lisberger selected in Neuroscience

Three Duke Institute for Brain Sciences Faculty Network Members were among six Duke faculty named fellows to the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science: Nicole Calakos, Neurology, for pioneering work in optogenetic approaches, and substantial contributions in the area of synaptic plasticity with a focus on striatal circuity of the basal ganglia; Nita A. Farahany, Law, for distinguished contributions to the field of neuroethics, enabling responsible and equitable development and implementation of new knowledge and technologies in neurosciences; and Stephen G. Lisberger, Neurobiology, for fundamental contributions to understanding of the organization and function of brain mechanisms that underlie sensorimotor learning, using visually-driven eye movements as a model system. Congratulations to all six faculty; read more HERE.