Skip to content

New Leadership in the Department of Psychology & Neuroscience

The Duke Institute for Brain Sciences congratulates faculty members Elizabeth Marsh and Kevin La Bar, who will assume leadership of the Department of Psychology & Neuroscience in Trinity College of Arts & Sciences. Marsh will become Chair of the Department, and LaBar will replace her as Associate Chair. Both Marsh and La Bar have long been active members of the DIBS community, taking part in Bass Connections teams and receiving seed funding for their research. Dr. La Bar has also served as Associate Director of the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience. DIBS is also grateful to Dr. Scott Huettel, who will end his term as Chair of the Department of Psychology & Neuroscience, having successfully guided the department through the transition of the Neuroscience major from DIBS to the department, expanded the department faculty, and established excellent mentorship for junior faculty during his tenure.

"We look forward to continued fruitful collaboration with the new leadership in the Department of Psychology Neuroscience," said Geri Dawson, Director of DIBS. 

"Beth and Kevin are both eminent scholars, who are also renowned for their vision and advocacy on behalf of students. I'm grateful for Kevin's leadership during his tenure as CCN Associate Director," added Alison Adcock, CCN Director.

These transitions will take effect on July 1, 2021.