Skip to content

Research Incubator Awards Announced

Ten interdisciplinary research teams at Duke have been selected to receive the 2014-2015 Duke Institute for Brain Sciences (DIBS) Research Incubator Awards (four new awards and six continuation awards).

The Research Incubator Awards program is designed to encourage innovative approaches to problems of brain function that transcend the boundaries of traditional disciplines. The award provides seed funding for collaborative research projects that will lead to a better understanding of brain function and translate into innovative solutions for health and society.


2014-2015 New Awards

Real Time Workload Detection in Supervisory Control Applications Using fNIRS

Investigators: Greg Appelbaum (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences), Mary (Missy) Cummings (Materials Sciences and Mechanical Engineering)

Probiotic Treatment: The Role of the Gut Microbiome in Childhood Abdominal Pain and Anxiety

Investigators: Geri Dawson  (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences), Helen Egger (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences), Cynthia Kuhn (Pharmacology and Cancer Biology), Kevin LaBar (Psychology and Neuroscience), Patrick Seed (Pediatrics), Nancy Zucker (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)

Measuring Implicit Moral Attitudes

Investigators: Murali Doraiswamy (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences), Tobias Egner (Psychology and Neuroscience), Scott Huettel (Psychology and Neuroscience), Walter Sinnott-Armstrong (Philosophy and the Kenan Institute for Ethics)

Translation-Dependent Molecular Signature of Synaptic Plasticity

Investigators: Marc G. Caron (Cell Biology), Arthur Moseley (Proteomics), Scott H. Soderling (Cell Biology)

2014-2015 Continuation Awards

Mapping the Semantic Structure of Neuroscience

Investigators: Greg Appelbaum (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences); Scott Huettel (Psychology and Neuroscience); Jordynn Jack (English and Comparative Literature, UNC-Chapel Hill); James Moody (Sociology); Alex Rosenberg (Philosophy); and Angela Zoss (Duke University Libraries)

Characterization, Mechanisms, and Modeling of Static Magnetic Field Effects on Neuronal Excitability

Investigators: David Beratan (Chemistry); Wolfgang Liedtke (Neurology); Thomas McIntosh (Cell Biology); Scott Moore (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences); and Angel Peterchev (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)

Empirical and Neurobiological Foundations of Legal Decision-Making

Investigators: Donald Beskind (Law); R. McKell Carter (Cognitive Neuroscience); John Pearson (Neurobiology and Neurosurgery); J.H. Pate Skene [EDIT: link no longer exists] (Neurobiology); and Neil Vidmar (Law)

Novel Retinal Imaging Biomarkers in Early Alzheimer’s Disease

Investigators: James Burke (Neurology); Scott Cousins (Ophthalmology); Sina Farsiu (Biomedical Engineering and Ophthalmology); Eleonora Lad (Ophthalmology); Guy Potter (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences); and Heather Whitson (Medicine, Geriatrics)

A Novel Neural Circuit Analysis Paradigm to Model Autism in Mice

Investigators: Kafui Dzirasa (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences); Yong-hui Jiang [EDIT: Link no longer exists] (Pediatrics and Medical Genetics); and William Wetsel (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)

Combining Bioluminescence and Optogenetics for Noninvasive Photonic Control of Neurons

Investigators: Ute Hochgeschwender [EDIT: Link no longer exists] (Neurobiology); Marc Sommer (Biomedical Engineering); and Henry Yin(Psychology and Neuroscience)