Skip to main

Stephen Lisberger Named to National Academy of Sciences

The article below was written by the staff at the Duke University School of Medicine. Stephen Lisberger, Ph.D., is a DIBS faculty network member, as well as the chair and George Barth Geller Distinguished professor for research in neurobiology at Duke University School of Medicine.

Stephen Lisberger, PhD, the George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor for Research and chair of Neurobiology in the School of Medicine, is one of three Duke faculty newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences. 

Lisberger’s research investigates how the brain learns motor skills, and how we use what we see to guide how we move. His approaches involve studies of eye movements using behavior, neural recordings, and computational analysis. 

Also elected from Duke this year were Anne Pusey, the James B. Duke Distinguished Professor Emerita of Evolutionary Anthropology in Trinity Arts & Sciences; and Kate Scholberg, the Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of Physics in Trinity Arts & Sciences. 

The National Academy of Science announced the election of 120 new members and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Duke’s three new members join 28 other members of the National Academy of Sciences on the Duke faculty. 

Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology.