Skip to content

Whitson and Velmeshev Recognized at 2023 Duke School of Medicine Faculty Awards

Duke University School of Medicine is proud to acknowledge the faculty members who were selected as recipients of this year’s School of Medicine faculty awards. These are just a few of the awards and recognitions afforded to our community members and we want to congratulate them on these well-deserved honors. Congratulations to the following 2023 Duke School of Medicine Award recipients!

Excellence in Professionalism Award

The Excellence in Professionalism Award recognizes faculty members who exemplify professionalism and personify Duke’s guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork, and learning.

Kristen Dicks, MD, MPH; Jennifer Dominguez, MD, MHS; Charles Gerardo, MD

Kristen Dicks, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Jennifer Dominguez, MD, MHS, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Charles Gerardo, MDProfessor of Emergency Medicine

Gordon G. Hammes Faculty Teaching Award

The Gordon G. Hammes Faculty Teaching Award is intended to recognize continuing excellence in teaching and mentoring and exemplary commitment to the education of graduate students within Basic Science Departments and Graduate Training Programs in the School of Medicine.

Dennis Ko, MD, PhD

Dennis Ko, MD, PhD, Associate Professor in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award 

The Leonard Palumbo Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award recognizes members of the School of Medicine faculty who display dedication to compassionate patient care and excellence in the teaching and mentoring of young physicians. The award was created in memory of Dr. Palumbo through an endowment gift by his brother, E. Arthur Palumbo (Trinity College ’49). 

Ashraf Samir, Habib, MBBCh, Msc, MHSc, FRCA; Catherine Kuhn, MD

Ashraf Samir, Habib, MBBCh, Msc, MHSc, FRCA, Professor of Anesthesiology
Catherine Kuhn, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, is designed to recognize compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of health care. This award is presented to faculty members who demonstrate outstanding compassion in the delivery of care; respect for patients, their families, and health care colleagues; and demonstrated clinical excellence.

Brian Eichner, MD; Beverly Gray, MD, FACOG

Brian Eichner, MD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Beverly Gray, MD, FACOG, Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Master Clinician/Teacher Awards

The Master Clinician/Teacher Award honors faculty for accomplishment and service in the area of teaching in the School of Medicine or Medical Center. Nominees shall have made an extraordinary commitment to teaching and students.

Saumil Chudgar, MD; Julian Hertz, MD; Delbert Wigfall, MD; Sabino Zani Jr., MD

Saumil Chudgar, MD, MS Associate Professor of Medicine
Julian Hertz, MD, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Delbert Wigfall, MD, Professor of Pediatrics
Sabino Zani Jr., MD, Associate Professor of Surgery

Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award

The Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion within the School of Medicine community. Nominees should exemplify excellence, innovation, and leadership in helping to create a more diverse and inclusive environment. 

Tomi Akinyemiju, PhD

Tomi Akinyemiju, PhD, Associate Professor in Population Health Sciences

Research Mentoring Awards

The Research Mentoring Awards recognize faculty members in the School of Medicine for excellence in research mentoring. Excellence can be demonstrated in many ways, such as by the accomplishments of individual mentees, by programs implemented by the mentor, or by exceptional creativity in mentoring.

Career Mentoring Award in Basic Science

Heather Whitson, MD, MHS

Heather Whitson, MD, MHS, Professor of Medicine

Career Mentoring Award in Clinical Science

Hayden Bosworth, PhD; Joseph P. Mathew, M.D., MHSc, MBA,

Hayden Bosworth, PhD, Professor in Population Health Sciences
Joseph P. Mathew, M.D., MHSc, MBA, Jerry Reves, M.D. Distinguished Professor of Cardiac Anesthesiology

Early Career Mentoring Award in Basic Science

Maria Blasi, PhD; Wilton Williams, PhD

Maria Blasi, PhD, Assistant Professor in Medicine
Wilton Williams, PhD, Associate Professor in Surgery

Early Career Mentoring Award in Clinical Science

Catherine Staton, MD, MS

Catherine Staton, MD, MS, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine

Mentoring Excellence Award in Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Katherine Garman, MD; Lisa McElroy, MD, MS

Katherine Garman, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine
Lisa McElroy, MD, MS, Assistant Professor of Surgery

Ruth and A. Morris Williams Faculty Research Prize

The Ruth and A. Morris Williams Faculty Research Prize was established to advance research opportunities for early career faculty members and is awarded for research excellence demonstrated at Duke. The 2023 Williams Prize will recognize outstanding contributions in basic science research.

Stefano Di Talia, PhD; Biology Kevin Saunders, PhD,

Stefano Di Talia, PhD, Associate Professor of Cell Biology
Kevin Saunders, PhD, Associate Professor in Surgery

Interprofessional Education Excellence Awards

The Interprofessional Education Excellence Awards, established by Duke AHEAD (Academy for Health Professions Education and Academic Development) honors members who have demonstrated commitment, enthusiasm, competence, and innovation in promoting Interprofessional education in teaching, scholarly work, and/or clinical education. 

Leadership, instructors, and staff of the Interprofessional Education (IPE) Clinic

Whitehead Scholars Program

The Whitehead Scholars Program, supported through a gift from the Whitehead Charitable Foundation, helps attract and nurture the most promising biomedical researchers to the faculty at Duke University School of Medicine.

Asiya Gusa, PhD; Shuo Han, PhD; Dmitry Velmeshev, PhD; Pan Xu, PhD,

Asiya Gusa, PhD, Assistant Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Shuo Han, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
Dmitry Velmeshev, PhD, Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
Pan Xu, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biostatistics & Bioinformatics